Just say, “Thank you!!!”

In reading an article today, I wonder how often do I remember to say “Thank you” to the people in my life that deserve to hear it the most? So many times we treat strangers with more courtesy than we do to the people in our life each and every day. The fact that we take people for granted is no big surprise to anyone, we do this with everything. Time marches on and we have grown used to the societal norm.

I wondered to myself, as I have on so many occasions, about the “friends” I have on Facebook. We all know that person that has thousands of friends. Has the word friend become something different? I know we can all list a few people that we are required to be friends with on Facebook, and a few that we friend just to keep tabs on (read as stalk). But on average, could you, or would you for that matter, be able to walk up to more than half the people on your friend list and strike up a conversation? Would you have anything of value to offer them? Could you say thank you for being a part of my life?

This is my challenge – I want to thank each person that I am friends with. Not just a general post saying “hey guys, if you are reading this then I want to say thanks for being you!” Nope, I want to personally find one thing that I can truly thank them for. Like Aunt ‘Gerty (names have been changed to protect the innocent) I want to say thanks for all the times you saved me from the strange people at our family reunions by asking me to personally help you. Or Betsy (again changed), Thank you for being someone who I know I can call and have lunch with anytime I visit my old hometown, even though we don’t see each other regularly I enjoyed the times we have shared and your commitment to keeping a friendship alive even if we are miles apart and talk infrequently.

If you are up for the challenge, I would like you to join along. Send 1 person a message, card or (heaven forbid) call them or meet in person and thank them for being in your life. Make it personal, enjoy it and see if you can bring a smile to someone! Let us know how it goes.

3 thoughts on “Just say, “Thank you!!!”

  1. Nicole, we don’t say enough to you, Chad and Cashie, but we do love you three. Thanks for the Christmas card this year. It means a lot to us. We’re glad we have met you guys.

Leave a comment