A new me? lets just wait and see…


Every year I set myself up for the traditional downfall of resolutions. Why…why do we do this to ourselves? Exercise, diet, quit smoking, spend more time with family, get a better job, whatever it is in your life.

Last year I wanted to loose some weight, adopt or have a baby with my husband, and just flat out be a better person. Oh laugh…it’s ok, I know I screwed that all up. I quit running and dieting (although I did lose some weight, stress will do that!) I not only didn’t add a member to my little family, I decreased the number in half by divorcing the bugger, and did it all by having an affair (look at me Jesus, I am quite a person!) But believe it if you will I actually accomplished a goal that I didn’t even set. I for the first time in a very long time, I made myself happy.

I spent my new years eve at my folks house, and long after they went to bed, I rang in the new year (via skype) with the man dearest to my heart. Baby, I can’t imagine anyone else I would want to remember was the last person I spoke to in 2010 and the first I smiled with in 2011.

I have refused to set any resolutions this year. What is to happen will happen. I just hope that along the way I will get to experience the joys of life. I want to continue to grow (knowledge rather than weight if that is an option). I want to see people around me smile, and I want to laugh and cry and just be human. I still have my goals and aspirations, I just don’t want to set a time limit and feel the regret of losing, and thinking that I will have to wait till next year to be that better person.

I hope that whatever it is that you long for in 2011 will be obtainable. Happy New Year!

One thought on “A new me? lets just wait and see…

  1. I agree–New Year’s resolutions tend to set a person up for failure. I think it’s because of the pressure of it. We humans are resistant to pressure, by nature. And when you set goals based on a particular date, you just put unneeded pressure on yourself. One can set goals any time of year. This is one problem with holidays–religious and otherwise–we observe them once and year, and forget them the rest of the year. Alot of people volunteer to serve food to the homeless on Thanksgiving Day–then ignore, and even scorn the homeless the rest of the year. Valentine’s Day is another example. I hate Valentine’s Day, because I always expect to have a Valentine on February 14. But I could meet the most important woman in my life any day of the year.

    There are two mantras I use, on this subject. One is from a Deepak Chopra book (“Seven Spiritual Laws of Success)”: “Relinquish your attachment to the outcome; everything is as it is meant to be, in this moment.”

    And the other is directly from Hindu scripture (though it could work for anyone of any faith): “You have but the right to perform action. You have no hold on the results thereof. May you not seek the rewards of action. And may you never engage in wrong action.”

    And by the way, that cartoon is hilarious–and quite poignant!

Leave a Reply

