Seeing past the looking glass

As I drift into a peaceful slumber a fair amount of things pass randomly in and around my head. I think of family and friends, loved ones far away, work and my career path, and about what my life would be like if I had only chosen a different path.

I know the sequence of events that make up my life rely on the world around us, but ultimately, with each problem, we are given a choice. The person looking back at me in the mirror is the person I have made myself.  Only I hold the power to change me. Only I have the power to get up each morning and say this is who I want to be, or what I want to become. And with that power we have the decision of how we want to stay on the current path or to find another way thru life.

Seeing past the ‘who’ we are right now can be hard. We can spend a whole life time wallowing in the decisions of the past whether they be good or bad.  

I have a very dear friend that is starting to show signs of Alzheimer’s disease. She has lived her life to the fullest every day for the past 80 years. She still works every single day to try and continue to keep her mind clear and sharp. But the world moves too fast sometimes and she gets confused. It breaks my heart to see her get frustrated with ‘who’ she is right now. She wants to be the woman she was before, and she is missing the moments that are current because she worries too much about what she could do before. Her oldest grandson recently had a baby of his own and she won’t spend time with them because she is embarrassed about her ability to remember current things. That small child will never hold a grudge if she forgets his name a time or two. But that baby will never get to know the love of a woman that gives her all everyday unless she can see past the woman in the mirror.

I will be honest; I have had a hard time seeing past the looking glass. I have hidden my goals and dreams away before thinking that I don’t have the power (or sometimes the money) to see anything else. But that is not the way to live…you are the one that writes your own story! If you want the fairytale, go out and get it! Live today the life you want to see for yourself in the future.

“Yesterday is history. Tomorrow is a mystery. And today? Today is a gift. That’s why we call it the present.” ~Babatunde Olatunji

2 thoughts on “Seeing past the looking glass

  1. Sorry to hear about your friend, CowGal. 😐 Both of my parents are right there behind her. It is hard and heartbreaking. Having to tell them the same things over and over. Having to hear the same stories time and time again. Ok, time for a tissue break. Take care, CowGal.

Leave a Reply

