Where to begin

As most of you know, I am not a mother. But this week I was given an opportunity to be.

By some strange means, a young mother found my husband and myself and offered us her to be born in 3 weeks baby girl. I think that I have had every emotion ranging from excitement to stress to total disbelief.

We took her offer very seriously, but in the end we had to not accept.

I don’t really know how to tell you without sounding crazy, but deep in my heart I just knew this baby was not ment to be ours. I am not going to profess my religious beliefs on you, but I think God has another plan for our family.

I think the phone call to the mother was the hardest thing that I have ever done in my life. I don’t know how you politely tell someone that you don’t want their child…even though you have been praying for one for years. She was so young and really trying to do the right thing for this child.

Funny thing is, I don’t regret the choise that we have made. I know that what ever happens to this child will be better than what we could have offered.

One thought on “Where to begin

  1. Oh, Nikki, that’s so hard! I’m impressed that you were able to follow your heart and find peace with your decision. Life never quite works out the way you think it will, does it?

Leave a Reply

