Booking Through Thursday – The Library

This week’s question over at BTT  is this… btt1

I saw that National Library week is coming up in April, and that led to some questions. How often do you use your public library and how do you use it? Has the coffeehouse/bookstore replaced the library? Did you go to the library as a child? Do you have any particular memories of the library? Do you like sleek, modern, active libraries or the older, darker, quiet, cozy libraries?

I can honestly say that I have never been in my local public library…sad I know. But truth be told, last time I tried to go they had some seriously strange hours. So I drive about 30 minuets on the interstate to go to the closest bookstore, Barnes and Noble, every chance I get.

I love the smell of walking threw the doors, the strong aroma of fresh coffee mixed with the paper and the lingering scent of a mysterious aftershave of the man that walked down the isle in front of you. I’ll admid you don’t always get that last one, but it’s more fun if you do. I have to admit, even thought I could spend a few hours walking around the store…I have never once sat in one of the cozy chairs and started to read. That just drives me nutty!

As a kid since we lived so far away from the rest of the world, we had a bookmobile  that would stop in town once a week. I think the nice old man that ran this one was part of the reason that I started to read so much. It was so nice to run home from school to go and see this man that I thought traveled the world and still would remember my name when I came to visit each week. 

So share with us all…what would your answer be to the question?

4 thoughts on “Booking Through Thursday – The Library

  1. LOL! Your description is great: “I love the smell of walking threw the doors, the strong aroma of fresh coffee mixed with the paper and the lingering scent of a mysterious aftershave of the man that walked down the isle in front of you.” I totally agree — it’s much better when you get that scent! 🙂 And I agree with you, honestly — that sense of belonging. Bookstores are their own community, really!

  2. Ooo! I love the old cozy libraries myself! We have several of them around here. They are old historial buildings with wonderful stories of their own! The librarians and volunteers make going there feel like visiting old friends!

  3. When my oldest two were little, I took them to storytime every week at the county’s largest library. The children’s room there was magical, with toys, games, books and activities, with plenty of kid-sized nooks to curl up in. We all loved it.

    Now I take my younger two to our local (much, MUCH smaller) library for storytime every few weeks, when I’m not watching my niece. They love it, too. I need to take them to the bigger library. It will blow their mind.

    When I was growing up, I went to the library all the time. I’d check out 30 books and read them in a few weeks. I remember going at night with my family for FHE, and it was cool to be in the library at night. It has a totally different feel.

    When I was a teenager, my mom would drop me off for an hour and I’d check out my books, lug them across the parking lot to McDonald’s, get an ice cream cone, and go back and sit on the benches outside the library to start reading and wait for my mom.

    After I got my driver’s license, I think the very first place I went by myself was to the library. (Yes, I am THAT much of a nerd.)

  4. This library sounds like such a quaint place to visit. It would be interesting to sit and enjoy the atmosphere. You don’t get that in modern day librarys. They’re to “sanitary”. Thanks for the description!

Leave a Reply

