Happy Holidays

As I sit at my computer, finishing the last of the Christmas shopping, I think to myself about how the meaning of Christmas gets so overlooked. My mind drifts a little to an evening long ago…
Some where distant I hear the sounds of the sheep bedding down for the evening. My fellow shepherds and myself distracted by the beauty of the evening. A perfect night; stars shining, what seems to me to be more brightly than ever before and the fresh sent of the ground beneath me and a small fire to ward off the chill of the evening.

As I lay my head upon the ground to settle in an angel appears from the heavens, pure and more glorious than anything I have ever witnessed upon the Earth. The light from the fire seems like a star in the night sky in comparison to the pure light from the angelic being. The beauty is so much that tears stream from my eyes because I know deep in my heart that only God could create such a beautiful light. But the glory of all this frightens me and my companions. No one moves and the Earth seems to pause around us. And just when I think that my heart will burst with the pleasure of witnessing this magnificent creature, it speaks “Fear not: for, behold, I bring you good tidings of great joy, which shall be to all people”.

What would I do today if an angel just dropped in on my life I wonder…would I recognize them for what they are? Would I drop all my obligations and follow a star in the heavens to a destination to witness the birth of a child? Would I lay down all my riches at his feet?

What would Jesus say about the Christmas traditions that we have let this holiday become…the hustle, bustle and the frantic mess that we leave in our wake.

We want you to enjoy the holiday anyway that you want to…but want to remind you where we hold our loyalty, even when we forget to show it ourselves. Our thoughts and prayers are with you and yours…God Bless and Merry CHRISTmas.

santaandjesus

 

 

3 thoughts on “Happy Holidays

Leave a Reply

