Just so ya know…the whole kernel

One of my favorite treats around Halloween is Candy Corn.

Candy Corn is a confection popular in the United States, particularly around Halloween. Each piece is approximately the size of a whole kernel of corn, as if it fell off a ripe or dried ear of corn. The candy is usually tri-colored with a yellow base, orange center, and white tip, although the color combinations may vary. Candy corn is made primarily from sugar, corn syrup and honey. Carnauba wax is usually added. Although it is most popular at Halloween, it is available year-round. The National Confectioners Association estimate 20 million pounds of candy corn are sold each year. October 30 is National Candy Corn DayCandy corn was invented by George Renninger in the 1880s and produced by the Wunderle Candy Company. By 1900, the Goelitz Candy Company, now Jelly Belly, started mass producing the candy. also stingers men who would walk backwards pouring the steaming candy into trays of conrnstarch imprinted with kernal shape molds.

ย 

And just in case you can’t get your hands on some of this crazy fun treat…I included a link for ya here. http://www.candydirect.com/search.php?keywords=candy+corn

8 thoughts on “Just so ya know…the whole kernel

  1. That is one candy I can live without just fine. I never really liked those much. But I’ll gladly save any I get for you fans of them. I’ll trade for just about anything with chocolate or caramel. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    * Oh I like them as well, but you have to have candy corn for Halloween. It’s like the candy hearts at Valentines…a must!

  2. I”ve always loved candy corn, even as a young child. My daughter-in-law loves it too and now most every occasion finds it in different color combinations as you said, so I get her a bag of the newest, freshest colors. Oh, and a bag for me, too.

  3. My sister introduced me to the joys of mixing candy corn with peanuts. It tastes like a PayDay candy bar, only better. Of course, it’s probably got 10,000 calories per serving, which is why I’m no longer speaking to my sis.

Leave a Reply

