Oh, must I ?

“Eye Walking” (as a fellow blogger says) around the web today I thought about all the books that I’ve read and some of the “to read” lists that I’ve made, and I wondered what other folks read and what recommendations that they give out.

In a round about way I started to look up what people thought are some of the must read books before you die and I found this great site that I just loved what he had to say…here is a little excerpt from his page.

” No one must read anything, in the sense of being compelled to read something by another.

But those of us who love books, and who love reading, know that we must read. The command is self-generated, and will not be denied. To travel my morning commute into Washington without a book to read on the train is a punishment that I would not wish on my worst enemies. Actually, I exaggerate; I have no “worst enemies,” and those that I disliked in the past were generally illiterate, anyway. But I digress.

As I was saying, we – people like you and I – must read. We must finish a book, and then begin another. Sometimes, this transition is an easy one; at other times, less so. There are occasions when we are forced to ask ourselves, “What book should I read next?” There are times – dreadful times – when we find no easy answer to this question, when we wrack our brains until we reach a point when no book seems like the right choice.”

How true is this? But what would you include? Would you really reach for the classics that places like readers digest suggest you can’t possible live without? Don’t get me wrong, things like Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen and Lord of the Rings by Tolken would be on my list, but I enjoy them. Forgive me if it’s a favorite of yours but I have no intention of ever reading Crime and Punishment by Fyodor Dostoyevsky even though I actually own a copy (don’t ask!). Do you stick with fiction or can a non-fiction work go on there too, like the Bible, possibly a very controversial issues if you don’t include it with some folks I talked to. Can a pamphlet or short story make the list like the ones included on the wikipedia site listing the 1001 books you must read before you die. The old man would make me feel a little guilty if I didn’t include something by Louis L’amour which would probably have to be for me Jubal Sackett. And short on-line reads…they can really pack a punch sometimes.

So given the chance to make up a list of must read before you die books what would you include? Just a little insight into the things that you read…I’m making a list, but I want to hear from you first.

6 thoughts on “Oh, must I ?

  1. I don’t have anything on my list that I’m BURNING to read, or that my soul would regret not having experienced were I to die this afternoon. What I CAN tell you are things that I have heartily enjoyed reading, and that I would read again with little or no prompting; how’s that?

    Perhaps my most favorite book of all time is Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein. I’ve read it literally a dozen times – probably more – and I come away from it with something new to think about with every reading. I get to teach this book in some of my English classes, which only makes me love it more.

    I’m also overly fond of Diana Gabaldon’s Outlander series. It’s a combination of science fiction, time travel, and gorgeous romance that is, for me, anyway, quite literally the perfect escape novels. There are six novels in the series – hefty books, all – and I tear through them with delight about once a year.

    *Oh…kindred spirits? Some of my Favorites as well…my co-worker just turned me on to the Outlander books last fall but they are great! As for Shelley’s…I’ve purchased it but haven’t sat down with it yet, I have a strange habit of reading all in a series before I more on and have been in the middle of a few for a while by Sara Douglass. Thanks for the comment…this is exactly what I was looking for.

  2. There are way too many books to read before I die. I couldn’ t possibly list them and some haven’t even been written yet! LOL. Seriously – I’d like to go back and re-read some of the classics too. You know, the ones you were forced to read in school and took for granted. I think I would have a better appreciation for them now. Moby Dick, A Tale of Two Cities, Jane Eyre – those types.

    *I know…it’s just so hard to eat the words i spoke to all my English teachers over the years… “who would actually read this?”

  3. I would and have read Moby Dick, Tale of Two Cities, Crime and Punishment. How about the political horror stories like 1984 or The Stand. And “your old man” is right Louis is on top of my list. And let’s not forget Charles Schulz! And how bout the poets, ee cummings being my favorite.

    *Wow, I knew you were a deep thinker, but really… Schulz? That is the hard core stuff right there. 😉 I have Moby Dick, I picked it up at a yard sale a few years back and it’s just so darn overwhelming to even look at. I don’t know why…but I think it has to do with the my 11th grade English teacher. He had a list that he wanted us to read and “enjoy”, this one was at the top.

  4. Why no Crime & Punishment? I think it’s a great book… and an even better read if you’re not forced to discuss & analyze it to hell in AP English classes.

    I’ve been trying to find some books to read as of late… I enjoy science fiction & am looking for some books there. I recently came across a site that I can’t remember but is linked to at my blog.

    I’m not a big fan of the “classics”, but that’s probably just me. And I enjoy the non-fiction books… things like Garbage Land and what not. Of course, no one is gonna call that a “must read”, but yeah…

    *Garbage Land??? I’m not familiar with that one. Do you like the space type sci-fi or more in the fantasy realm?

  5. Here’s a lil’ list from the Coolest BFF on the web :

    Desperation- Stephen King

    Whispers- Dean Koontz

    Lolita- Nabakov

    The Godfather- Mario Puzo

    try those out, they’ll knock your fucking socks off!

    *Will do…thanks doll!

  6. Garbage Land is a look at what happens to the garbage that we throw out. Very interesting, in my opinion.

    I’m really not big into fantasy any more… I’ve read the Harry Potters & some of the Redwall books and all, but I much prefer sci-fi, of any type (like anything by Michael Crichton).

    *I’ll have to check that out…I love the Harry Potter books, but who dosen’t?

Leave a Reply

