A song and dance Thursday 13

Talea inspired this weeks Thursday 13 with this great post on how she doesn’t like to dance. After reading her blog for the last few months all I can (read as: dare) say is that this gal probably has such mad skills on the floor (from her time doing ballet) that it’s not even worth her time showing us all up.

I’m just so totally jealous with people that have the kind of dedication to even learn ballet…I wish I was that cool. I’m one of the people she was talking about that spend way to much money to watch (read as: ogle) people like her with the fit bodies that should bounce around on stage in front of folks.

I have come to enjoy spending a night out on the town to see an old fashion song and dance show. My mother and aunt started taking me to capitol theater when I was five. Some of the shows I have fallen instantly in love with, some not so much. For the Thursday 13 I will share with ya (read as: brag about) my favorites, and how many times I’ve been to enjoy them.

1. Cats (2)

2. Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dream Coat (1 )

3. Miss Saigon (1)

4. Sound of Music (2)

5. Peter Pan, the ballet (2)

6. Nutcracker, the ballet (23)

7. Beauty and the Beast (4)

8. The King and I (1)

9. South Pacific (1)

10. 7 Brides for 7 Brothers (1)

11. Oklahoma (2)

12. Phantom of the Opera (2)

13. Les Miserables(3)

    les.jpg
5 thoughts on “A song and dance Thursday 13

  1. I found your site on technorati and read a few of your other posts. Keep up the good work. I just added your RSS feed to my Google News Reader. Looking forward to reading more from you.

    Aaron Wakling

  2. I like seeing shows like the ones you listed. It’s so easy to get caught up in the story and the music. You have seen a lot of them! 🙂

    *I’m spoiled, I must admit.

  3. Oooh, Joseph was fun and I LOOOOVED phantom of the opera. It was in Toronto for over a decade. Had it’s own theatre and everything! We’re all up the theatre shiznat around here!

    *OHHHH…*packing bags* I’m on my way to visit!

  4. Trust me…you’re cool. Maybe not the ballet dancer type of cool but cool just the same. It’s especially ultra cool (overdoing the chilly word) to know that the cowgal has this highbrow, cultured side. I bet the ballet dancer isn’t as multi-faceted.

    I’ve only seen four of your thirteen, and my favorite was Cats. I’m trying to cajole DH into going to NYC for a few days over spring break, and I’ve promised that if he goes just this once, I will never expect him to go with me again. He can do the hunting in Arkansas thing and I can do a girls’ trip. Right now I don’t even know what’s playing, but your post has inspired me to start checking on things.

  5. Ooooh, Capital Theater. I accompanied my daughter on a field trip to see part of “The Nutcracker” last month. Can you believe I’ve lived in Utah for 33 years and have never been to see it in its entirety?

    That’s so sad.

    *OK when I go see the ballet in Feb. I’ll give ya a call!

Leave a Reply

