Be thankful for thanksgiving!

 Thanksgiving is possible only for those who take time to remember; no one can give thanks who has a short memory.  ~Author Unknown

I found this quote on the web and was inspired by it. I just thought that I would take a little time and remember all the wonderful blessings in my life, and since I have this nice little place to jot it all down here I go.

I’m grateful to have a loving family that supports my hopes and dreams and to live in a country that allows me live out those dreams. I’m thankful for the freedoms of this country; my religion, my freedom of speech, my right to bare arms. I’m so grateful that I can be whom ever I want to be, I can choose to be a bum or a millionaire, live in the city or (thank heavens) the country, be a blond or a brunette, or if I want to further my education or work as a ditch digger.  I’m grateful to all my friends that make me smile and forget my worries, and my dogs that jump up to greet me every time I walk in the door (regardless if I’ve been gone 3 minutes or 10 days).  I’m pleased each and every night that I climb in to a warm bed in my own home, and even for the bills that come each month that remind me of the quality of life that I live. I would be a wreck without my car, microwave, clothes, photos, music, entertainment and my books.  I’m thankful for my job that pays for that quality of life. I’m very grateful for my health and the health of my loved ones. I’m grateful we have this holiday to spend with our family and friends and that we have the choice to actually eat the thanksgiving turkey (yuck) and watch football (is there nothing else on) and the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade. But most of all I’m thankful for the day after Thanksgiving sales.  Let’s go shopping!!!

 aturk.jpg

3 thoughts on “Be thankful for thanksgiving!

  1. Aw, hon .. this was a wonderful entry. So true in all aspects, and I thank you for sharing it. Im so glad you are thankful for what you have, and who you have. That’s key, that’s what is important.
    Happy Turkey Day to you!

    *you to hun!

  2. We are polar opposites, aren’t we?
    And yet, I like you anyway 🙂

    *Oh thanks…I think it’s fun to have friends with a different view on things. It’s always fun to mix things up. 8)

  3. Loved reading this. I’ve been concentrating on being even more aware than usual of the many things I have going for me in my life, and you’ve hit some of the same ones. It’s so fantastic to be an American! Even though we are sometimes (okay, often) a bit materialistic, this great land of opportunity makes it possible…along with all of the other rights and freedoms that you mentioned. Have a great Thanksgiving!

    *you do the same!

Leave a Reply

