Welcome to America

I belive the USA is a great place…I just wish we stuck to the foundations we established long ago. Here is another great find…


Theodore Roosevelt’s ideas on Immigrants and being an AMERICAN in 1907.    
‘In the first place, we should insist that if the immigrant who comes here in good faith becomes an American and assimilates himself to us, he shall be treated on an exact equality with everyone else, for it is an outrage to discriminate against any such man because of creed, or birthplace, or origin. But this is predicated upon the person’s becoming in every facet an American and nothing but an American…There can be no divided allegiance here. Any man who says he is an American, but something else also, isn’t an American at all. We have room for but one flag, the American flag… We have room for but one language here, and that is the English language… and we have room for but one sole loyalty and that is a loyalty to the American people.’

Theodore Roosevelt 1907  
tros.jpg

For more info on this see Snopes.

7 thoughts on “Welcome to America

  1. Kind of makes you wonder what’s happened to our thinking and acting in the last 100 years. Things seem a little haywire sometimes, don’t they? This is sort of a complex issue and sort or not. I know all of us came here from somewhere (at least our ancestors did), but our forefathers and foremothers realized that to be part of this great country, there were things they needed to do. And they did them.

    Even now in a more narrow sphere, if I want to be a part of a club, group, or church, I have to conform to certain guidelines or I’m out. What’s that saying about “When in Rome, wear Roman sandals.”

    * I couldn’t have said it any better.

  2. well, we all got here from somewhere else, i just hate that other cultures come here and REFUSE to accept our culture. i mean, you came HERE, why should we learn your language? if i went somewhere abroad i would have to learn their language right? it’s fucked up.

    that is all.

    *I just hope that Paul will still like us, even if we don’t understand a thing he says.

  3. Strange, considering that Americans and Australians descended from the same British Convict stock. Unless a certain Somebody has altered the history of both races. Like the Cavemen.

    *who could do such a thing? 😆

  4. Is this like…ironic…or serious? I guess this just seems really odd to me coming from Canada, where assimilation is not necessary or encouraged, and where saying you are “Canadian” and also “something else”” is actually a positive thing; take my parents for example: they are Canadian citizens now (and have been for 20+ years), but they are also Indian, and no one would take that away from them, simply because they honor where they came from in their traditions, languages, and native pride or whatever…but of course, that’s just one side of the coin…

    It’s funny, I always say Canadians/Americans are SO similar in so many ways, but I guess there are some differences too between ourselves and our neighbour….oh well, it’s all good in the neighbourhood 🙂

    *That is really funny…we all want to be a melting pot (so to say) but we want the immigrants to throw out their native traditions. I never really thought of it that way. Thanks for your enlightening me!
    P.S. I love my neighborhood (you gals to the north are great!)

  5. I have given up the use of any phrase that categorizes one’s citizenship. For example: African-American, the NAACP ought to have burried it with the N-word. The fact that everybody categorizes what kind of American they are only serves to bolster the wall.

    I’m done with it.

    Great quote. Love Teddy. He was hot. If he were alive, I’d macking on him big time.

    *That’s a girl! I just love the ol’ man to.

  6. I thought a long time about whether I was going to respond to this or not because it isn´t something I really agree with – at least not to the extent that you appear to. I´m behind Romi on her statement, and I´m coming at it from a personal angle as well.

    I´ve resettled in another country, with another language, culture, traditions. I did so more by accident than anything else, but it´s here that now I´ve decided to spend a significant chunk of my life. I’m fluent in the language, familiar with the culture and can even cook like a local. Integration is vitally important and I´m behind that 100%.

    BUT.

    I´m still Australian. I WILL speak English around other native English speakers. I WILL ensure my children speak it as well and that they are equally comfortable here or in Australia. I WILL keep feeling that Christmas should be in mid-summer and I WILL keep enjoying cricket.

    Is it reasonable to demand that I don´t?

    I have American friends here who celebrate Halloween and Thanksgiving – that quote up there says that they should not be doing so. They should leave their US traditions back in their home country, never speak English again, delete all patriotic feelings for the US and give up that part of their identity.

    If you never leave the comfort of your own home town, it´s very easy to make broad demands of others. But think of how you would be in a foreign country, and how much of your own traditions you want to have the freedom of celebrating and passing onto your children. Now try applying THAT mindset to those immigrants around you.

    *thanks for the comment…I do appreciate a view from the other side. I don’t want to come across as a person that demands someone has to forget his or her roots, and I apologize if I have.

    I don’t think that anyone should throw their traditions out the window. I just want to live in an America that we can come together and stand as nation that has 1 flag. That we can believe in the liberties that our founding fathers fought for and the freedoms that our troops fight for now.

    I believe that in this nation, as a melting pot, we can bring together the best of all of our cultures and enjoy them together. I don’t think that anyone who settled this country left his or her homeland because everything there was perfect. If we try and make this land the land of our forefathers (before they came to the USA) what are we accomplishing? In my case I’m quite proud of my German ancestry, but I would have missed the greatest thing in the world if my fathers grandparents had not come here for religious freedoms. My Grandfather on my mother’s side was Native American and we enjoy the traditions that his family brought to the table so to say. Not every American citizen feels the same and that is exactly why I love this country…we enjoy the freedom of speech. I just want people to love the land as much as I do, for what it is…not what we could make it be like. If we wanted to live in (for example) Mexico…don’t you think I would move there?

Leave a Reply

