When did Catholics stop being Christians?

 I received an E-mail (see below) from a friend the other day about a film that has not even been released that the Catholic League is already boycotting. Having an interest in the movie from a teaser seen previously, I was intrigued why the uproar. It looked as if the movie (from representation from the e-mail) is a blatant attempt to shun the Catholic Church and promote Atheism in children. My curiosity took me all over the Internet in an attempt to find the truth about the book, author, and the new movie that is set to release in December 2007.

From my efforts I have found that…

Yes, the author of the book doesn’t have a set belief in God, as seen in a response to the question on his web site

His Dark Materials seems to be against organised religion. Do you believe in God?

I don’t know whether there’s a God or not. Nobody does, no matter what they say. I think it’s perfectly possible to explain how the universe came about without bringing God into it, but I don’t know everything, and there may well be a God somewhere, hiding away.”

Yes, the movie will be a watered down version of the book.

And yes, this is a work of fiction!

Now given this information I have come to the conclusion that I will still see the movie and, if I like it, will probably be swayed to purchase all the books in the series. Why? Because I have found that in my past experiences that I can enjoy works regardless of the creators beliefs. Take for instance a few examples… 

            Billy Joel

            George Bernard Shaw

            George Carlin

            Katharine Hepburn

            Sigmund Freud

            Sir Ian McKellen

            Gene Wilder

Each and every one of these people has influenced people’s lives in someway. Thomas the Tank Engine and Willy Wonka are loved and adored despite the actors who represent them. And what makes this children’s show any more in the wrong than some of the  horror films that flat out display Satanic worship and crude scenes. People watch these and express that it’s just a thrill to watch, it won’t effect my religious beliefs. Don’t get me wrong, I may not believe in the same things as these people, but my religious beliefs allow me to still be Christian and not judge them by their beliefs.

I’m also very sure that even though I don’t have children now, I hope to be able to give them the opportunity to decide what they believe in for themselves. I’m certain that I’ll be bias and give my opinion freely and repeatedly, but ultimately the choice is theirs to have.

This is the E-mail… 

Subject: Movie alert!

You   may already know about this kids movie coming out in December starring Nicole   Kidman. It’s called The Golden Compass, and while it will be a watered down  version, it is based on a series of children’s books about killing God (It is the anti-Narnia). Please follow this link and then pass it on. From what I   understand, the hope is to get a lot of kids to see the movie – which won’t   seem too bad – and then get the parents to buy the books for their kids for   Christmas. The quotes from the author sum it all up. I hope it totally bombs   because we were all paying attention!


http://snopes.com/politics/religion/compass.asp

8 thoughts on “When did Catholics stop being Christians?

  1. Religion is such a touchy f’d up topic that brings out the worst in people. In my surveys of the various religions I’ve found they all have one thing in common. “Do onto others as you would have done onto you.” Mention a different form of religion and this gets immediately forgotten.

    Just a couple pennies…

    *Oh that is so true…I love that quote!

  2. I’ve heard about this movie – as in “you’ve gotta see this movie” Nothing about its so-called atheist slant.

    Other Notable Humanists/Atheists/Free Thinkers

    Kurt Vonnegut
    Carl Sagan
    Aldous Huxley
    Margaret Atwood
    Betty Freidan
    Gene Roddenberry
    Julia Sweeney
    Socrates
    Mark Twain
    Charles Darwin
    Earnest Hemmingway
    Frank Zappa
    Nietzsche
    Helen Keller
    Me

    I personally think one of the greatest gifts you can give your child is the freedom to question liberally and think freely. For the life of me, I can’t figure out what’s wrong with children being exposed to the possibility that there may not be a God. Are there really Christian out there who are so afraid of the validity of their own beliefs, that any whisper of God’s nonexistence is a threat to their whole belief system? I can’t figure out any other reason why a work of fiction and its subsequent movie would be fodder for boycott! Thank goodness our government isn’t ruled by religious dogma or we’d be banning entire works of art and most scientific study.

    Sorry, this is a hot topic for me.

    *You just said exactly what I mean! I feel the same way.
    I’m thankful for the challenge to my faith to help me grow stronger.
    THANKS so much for the comment. And did I read you on the list? Go girl! 🙂

  3. I’m really wondering what it is that these assclowns are trying to accomplish. I’m with you. Hope it bombs . . .
    Interesting links too.
    It’s fiction but you must know some disenchanted clown will take it to heart.
    Sheesh.
    ~m

    *Thanks for the remarks; I’m glad I’m not alone thinking this is asinine.

  4. He sounds like an agnostic than an athiest to me. He doesn’t say that he believes that there is no god only that he doesn’t know. Faith is a hard thing to take at face value for a lot of people. Who am I to argue? Live and let live is my philosophy. But many can’t do it? It’s good to see that you can let others deal with the issues in their own way.

    *Nice philosophy, I like it!

  5. As a Catholic, when I read your words I was glued to the screen. I too was interested in the movie and had not heard this other side to it. Faith and religion are such hot topics in today’s society. One side or the other is always going to be on the defensive. As a Christian I find myself always questioning my faith in God and the afterlife. But I think that’s what makes us stronger. As a human you have to always question things. I don’t believe there’s anything wrong in that. More than likely I’ll take my daughter to see it, but if it makes either of us uncomfortable then we can always leave. People forget that they have a choice and aren’t sheep to be herded about. Thanks for a great post! I’ll be coming back!

    *I love your comment about being sheep. It’s true. Why should we go with the heard? We need to be our own selves.

  6. one of the girls at work sent me an email about this. i’m kinda confused but never pay when i go to the movies anyway. but no way am i buying those books for my kids! then i’ll have to teach them to read and stuff… not worth it.

    *You crack me up! 😆

  7. This movie looks very interesting; I’ll have to check it out…I think it’s kind of sad when people are so threatened by something that might challenge their beliefs, that they choose to run and hide from it (as per that person’s email thoughts on the movie). When is it ever a bad thing to hear about different perspectives? it only makes you think, and is that a bad thing?

    As for the kids seeing it, I think it’s very insulting to kids everywhere, to assume that they will be brainwashed by everything they see, like they are some mindless drones…

    *Kids don’t do everything they see in video games…right?

  8. Hi CG,
    I think you’re right – all the hoopla probably creates more interest than if they just went about their business. Unfortunately, all the ‘leaders’ seem to think we of the great unwashed are just a bunch of dopes who must be told at every turn what to think, do and see. If they movies/books suck no one will see them. It doesn’t look too interesting to me but maybe if I see the previews I’ll change my mind. I think too many people read far too much into works of art and creative product. It’s just a story. Why can’t they leave it at that?
    WC

    *Why can’t my friend that sent the e-mail think like that? Then again her mom told her who to vote for in the next elections…but we won’t go there.

Leave a Reply

