Recipe Exchange

I received this fun little e-mail from a friend and wanted to invite everyone to join in the fun…I have tagged a few of you and e-mailed others just to bring it to your attention, but as I have said, anyone who would like to play is welcome.

 

 How it works:

1) Send a recipe to the person whose name is listed in the number 1 position above (even if you don’t know them)–preferably something quick easy, and without rare ingredients.  SEND THE ONE THAT IS IN YOUR HEAD RIGHT NOW!
2) Copy this letter into a new email, move my name to the number 1 position, and put your name and email address in the number 2 position. (Only your name and mine should appear in this list when you send out your email.)  Send this to 15 friends.
****If you cannot do this within 5 days, please let me know so it will be fair to those participating. It is fun to see where these recipes come from!  Seldom does anyone drop out because we can all use new recipes!  The turn around is fast because only 2 names are on the list.  Thanks!  Enjoy!!

 # 1 Drohbock@msn.com 

#2 Cowgalutah@hotmail.com  

Just to make things fun and since it only takes a minuet more I have included my favorite recipe for you to enjoy. If you want you can send your recipe to me as well as the person in the # 1 spot. This way we get to enjoy more recipes. Hope you can play and enjoy!

Nikki

  I stole this recipe from All recipes long ago, I love it.

Baked Potato Soup

INGREDIENTS

  • 12 slices bacon
  • 2/3 cup margarine
  • 2/3 cup all-purpose flour
  • 7 cups milk
  • 4 large baked potatoes, peeled and cubed
  • 4 green onions, chopped
  • 1 1/4 cups shredded Cheddar cheese
  • 1 cup sour cream
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon ground black pepper

DIRECTIONS

1.  Place bacon in a large, deep skillet. Cook over medium heat until browned. Drain, crumble, and set aside.

2.  In a stockpot or Dutch oven, melt the margarine over medium heat. Whisk in flour until smooth. Gradually stir in milk, whisking constantly until thickened. Stir in potatoes and onions. Bring to a boil, stirring frequently.

Reduce heat, and simmer 10 minutes. Mix in bacon, cheese, sour cream, salt, and pepper. Continue cooking, stirring frequently, until cheese is melted.

 But I like to cheat and use Bacon Bits, just to have one less step. I also just cook my potatoes in the microwave and you never can tell the difference. Everyone enjoys when I serve this in Bread Bowls…yummy!

So here are the tags I want to send out! Bella, Red, Feathered Fibers, FMY, Fracas, Granola, Green Metropolis, Leaky Brain, Mean Bean, Mormons Rock, Nanny, Observant Bystander, Muse, Swimming Upstream, Mittins @ Magic Cauldron, Tick Flicker, Welcome to Wherever you are, Without Sanity, Writer Chick. If you don’t want to join in just let me know!

12 thoughts on “Recipe Exchange

  1. hey BFF!!

    I got your email. unfortunately when i have tried to do these in the past they never get past two or three people. i will send you a recipe though and i’m taking yours. baked potato soup is the shit!!

    Love,

    BFF Reg

    Well at least thanks for sending me yours…and the soup is actually somthing easy enough I can make.

  2. oh, and i’m having a hard time getting to bella’s blog. i tried emailing her but that got kicked back to me too. anybody heard from her??

    I couldn’t get her today either! I’m worried…

  3. Bella deleted her blog, though she’s around .. Perhaps she’ll even make a new blog sometime in the future. She’s okay though…!

    And yes, I got your email as well. Will be replying here shortly!

    What??? I’ll miss her…
    Well glad she is ok
    I can’t wait to see what you send on!

  4. Baked potato soup!! Now that is something I will not defile. Delicious recipe. Potatoes and bacon are my favorite foods. Hands down.

    I’ve just been trying to add peanut butter and chocolate to complete all the required food groups!

  5. ok, i’m in…but it will be tomorrow or the next day cos i just did one tonight, and i’ll be doing a post about the end of “splendid” shortly too…is that going to be too far away? it will probably be up by late saturday night {my time that is, not yours}…if that’s not soon enough that’s fine, i just thought i should give you the choice is all…may have to try this one, sounds interesting and not something i would have thought of either….

    Oh honey…your defiantly worth the wait! 😉

  6. I’ll get to it later today or tomorrow girlie. Thanks for including me…the potato soup recipe sounds amazing (I might make it tonight!).

    I wasn’t sure what mermaids eat…but I hope you like it!
    😉

  7. Okay, I’m in. I tried this (recipe exchange) a couple of years ago, unfortunately I didn’t get a lot of turn-around? Maybe better luck this go round.

    Well I hope we can be more responsible…

  8. Hey I got your email; my cooking is likely to kill the average human, but I’ll at least send you something less dangerous from my mom’s kitchen the next time I got home 😉

    If you want to send somthing like Paul’s that is fine too!

  9. :O holy carp ! i just saw this last night. im not smart enough to read the stuff below ‘how it works’ but i could get an adult to help me. i bake a glorious chocolate cake ! thank you cowgal !

    *Oh goodies…I hope you find an adult to help you out!

  10. this is going up tonight…i haven’t forgotten, i’ve just been busy…sorry..
    love the new theme by the way…looks good..

    *Oh it’s ok no hurry…I slipped off for the weekend anyway.
    and I’m glad you like it.

Leave a Reply

